Radio Kansas

SYMPHONY AT HOME BROADCAST SERIES

Radio Kansas, in partnership with the Wichita Symphony, brings Symphony concerts to the airwaves. Katelyn Mattson hosts broadcasts of each Masterworks concert programs in the season. Scroll down for the full broadcast schedule and information on how to listen:

Upcoming Radio Broadcasts

All concerts are broadcast on Fridays at 7:00 PM on Radio Kansas, 90.1 FM in the Hutchinson and Wichita area, 89.5 FM in the Salina and Manhattan area, and 90.9 FM in the Great Bend and Hays area. To learn more about Radio Kansas and their programming or listen online, visit radiokansas.org.

Sunrise Mass

Radio Broadcast: Friday, January 12, 2024
Live Performance: Saturday, October 21, 2023
Wichita Symphony Chorus
Wichita State Madrigals
Wichita State Chorale
Ola Gjeilo: Sunrise Mass

Suite Tributes

Radio Broadcast: Friday, January 19, 2024
Live Performance: Sunday, October 29, 2023
Holly Mulcahy, Violin
Aaron Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Jim Stephenson: Violin Concerto "Tributes"
Aram Khachaturian: "Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia" from Spartacus: Suite No. 2
Richard Strauss: Rosenkavalier Suite

Suite Tributes Program Notes

Spirituals & Symphonies

Radio Broadcast: Friday, January 26, 2024
Live Performance: Saturday, November 19, 2023
André Raphel, Guest Conductor
Adolphus Hailstork: Three Spirituals for Orchestra
Roy Harris: Third Symphony, in One Movement
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 in E minor

Spirituals & Symphonies Program Notes

'S Wonderful: A Tribute to George Gershwin

Radio Broadcast: Friday, February 2, 2024
Live Performance: Saturday, December 9, 2023
Lisa Vroman, Vocalist
Clayton Stephenson, Piano

'S Wonderful: A Tribute to George Gershwin Program Notes

Brahms & Beethoven

Radio Broadcast: Friday, April 5, 2024
Live Performance: Sunday, January 21, 2024
Stephen Hough, Piano
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7

Brahms & Beethoven Program Notes

Gabriela Martinez Plays Rachmaninoff

Radio Broadcast: Friday, April 12, 2024
Live Performance: Sunday, February 18, 2024
Gabriela Martinez, Piano
Nokuthula Ngwenyama: Primal Message for Strings
Paul Hindemith: Mathis der Maler
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2

GABRIELA MARTINEZ PLAYS RACHMANINOFF PROGRAM NOTES

Choral Sensations

Radio Broadcast: Friday, April 19, 2024
Live Performance: Saturday, March 9, 2024
Wichita Symphony Chorus
Florence Price: "Nimble Feet" from Dances in the Canebrakes
Francis Poulenc: Gloria
Antonín Dvořák: Te Deum
Tim Hinck: World Premiere Symphony

Choral Sensations Program Notes

The Masters: Mozart + Mahler

Radio Broadcast: Friday, April 26, 2024
Live Performance: Saturday, April 13, 2024
Terrence Wilson, Piano
W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto in A Major, K. 488
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1

Experience a Night Out We’ll help you plan your evening!