Contact arrow

Copland 3 + Blue Electra

2020-2021 Season

Copland 3 + Blue Electra

Apr 17
7:30 PM
Apr 18
3 PM
Century II Concert Hall

featuring Anne Akiko Meyers, violin

JOAN TOWER Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
   A new violin concerto inspired by Amelia Earhart featuring Anne Akiko Meyers
COPLAND Symphony No. 3
   Spoiler alert: it ends with Fanfare for the Comman Man!

Currently only available by purchasing Season Tickets! Call 316.267.7658 and save up to 15% when you subscribe!

Hear samples of the music to be performed at this concert

Anne Akiko Meyers

About Violinist Anne Akiko Meyers

Anne Akiko Meyers is one of today’s most internationally renowned and respected classical musicians.   Anne has dramatically expanded the modern violin repertoire with significant new commissions - including the violin concerto inspired by Amelia Earhart that you will hear live at this concert, Blue Electra. She has made 37 recordings, many of them debuting at #1 on the Billboard charts and becoming staples of classical music radio stations. Anne has been featured in profiles or performances on CBS Sunday Morning, CBS’s “The Good Wife,” NPR’s Morning Edition with Linda Wertheimer, and All Things Considered with Robert Siegel and recently curated “Living American” on Sirius XM Radio’s Symphony Hall. Learn more at

Get More! Join Inside the Music for an in-depth conversation about this concert

Arrive Early for Concert Talks

If you’d like to learn more about the music in our concert programs, Concert Talks are just what you need! Before every Masterworks Concert, the Wichita Symphony Orchestra will present pre-concert talks which help prepare you and deepen your understanding of the music to be performed in the program. Sometimes our guest soloists even join Maestro Hege for a discussion of their concerto collaboration! Free to all ticket holders, Concert Talks take place in the Concert Hall one hour prior to each Masterworks performance.

First Visit to the Symphony? Learn more